• Sort All Books
  • Information

The Kingdom Is Always But Coming
A Life of Walter Rauschenbusch

By Christopher H. Evans

The Kingdom Is Always But Coming
Paperback, 376 pages $34.95
Published: 12th January 2010
ISBN: 9781602582095
Format: 9in x 6in

Subjects: All History, All Religious Studies, All Theology, Church History, Historical Theology

Given the 2005 Award of Merit by Christianity Today, Christopher Evans’ The Kingdom is Always but Coming follows the life and career of American theologian Walter Rauschenbusch, the preeminent spokesperson at the center of the social gospel movement. Perceptive, well-informed, and ably written, Evans’ biography is a superb introduction to both Rauschenbusch’s life and his thought.

Foreword, by Mark A. Noll



1. In the Shadow of August Rauschenbusch

2. The Energetic American

3. Beneath the Glitter

4. Social Salvation

5. Rauschenbusch’s Assisi

6. The Pleasures of Youth

7. The New Apostolate

8. A Psychological Moment

9. The Social Awakening

10. The Struggles of Kingdom Building

11. Social Redemption

12. A Few Brave Souls

13. The Little Gate to God



“Timely and absorbing. Like the best in this genre, this biography brilliantly positions Rauschenbusch in his own era.”

—Harvey Cox, Hollis Professor of Divinity, Harvard Divinity School

“Splendid. A model of historical scholarship and theological analysis; it significantly strengthens our understanding of Rauschenbusch and his era.”

—Gary Dorrien, Reinhold Niebuhr Professor of Social Ethics, Union Theological Seminary

“Definitive. Evans presents the paradoxes and complexities of Rauschenbusch’s life, thought, and action in ways that past biographers have not.”

—Rosemary Skinner Keller, Professor Emerita of Church History, Union Theological Seminary

Christopher H. Evans is Professor of History of Christianity and Methodist Studies in the School of Theology, Boston University. He is the author and editor of several books, including, The Faith of Fifty Million: Baseball, Religion, and American Culture (2002), The Social Gospel Today (2001), and Histories of American Christianity (2013). In 2005, The Kingdom is Always but Coming won the “Award of Merit” for outstanding title in history/biography in Christianity Today magazine.

Publication Details:

 Paperback , 376 pages
 9in x 6in

  BIO018000, REL015000
 Baylor University Press

Other visitors also viewed:

Disruption and Hope Matthew 1–14 Aramaic Ezra and Daniel Matthew 15–28 Reformation in the Western World